Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Once again, Politics Trumps Public Safety

Once again, Politics Trumps Public Safety
    Thursday , August 23, 2007
    http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,294244,00.html
    By Bill O'Reilly

It's coming to a head. It's coming to a head, ladies and gentlemen. Now last night, I hammered Newark, New Jersey Mayor Cory Booker for not being tough enough on illegal alien criminals. I talked with the mayor today. He is reconsidering his position.

Shortly after yesterday's segment, I received this letter from Anthony in New Jersey: "I'm a probation officer in this state and we are routinely issued memos by the judiciary ordering us not to contact ICE when we receive an illegal alien on probation. Despite that order, I have contacted ICE on four separate occasions because I deemed the men to be dangerous. After my call, two of them were deported and two others picked up by the Feds."

Anthony is to be commended for protecting the public. The governor of New Jersey Jon Corzine is to be challenged, even though today the Jersey attorney general ordered local police to contact ICE when a suspected alien is arrested on serious charges.

Likewise, the mayors of Portland, Oregon and Houston, Texas, both sanctuary cities, have explaining to do. In Portland Tom Potter is soft on illegal aliens, affording them every protection he can. Potter continues to do this, despite the murder of 15-year-old Danny Countryman, who was allegedly strangled by Alejandro Gamboa, an illegal with a drunk driving conviction.

Clackamas County authorities never reported Gamboa to ICE after his first conviction. That murder happened near Portland, not in the city. But Portland still refuses to alert ICE about criminal alien arrests in most cases.