Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

THE BLOG THAT GOT ME BANNED

I have been blogging for over 4 years in my local newspaper, The North County Times. I guess I made one blog too many on the feel good story of the first babies on 2009. It wasn't that all of the babies mentioned had complex Latino names; it was that they all appeared to be to unwed, unemployed mothers. It was a precursor to the new Welfare society.

http://www.nctimes.com/

Last year they ran a similar story, and they added in the fact that all of the interviews they did for the story required a Spanish interpreter.

Here is the story.

R/ Skip

NORTH COUNTY: First baby of 2009 born

By DAVID GARRICK - Staff Writer |
    Thursday, January 1, 2009 9:07 PM PST

NORTH COUNTY ---- Giving birth to North County’s first baby of 2009 was a surreal experience for 19-year-old Yaquelin Teran of Vista, who said she spent most of Thursday marveling at her infant son.

"I thought I was dreaming, but he's actually here," said Teran, a first-time mother. "It hasn’t really kicked in yet, but I think it finally will when I go home with him."

Teran gave birth at 12:32 a.m. Thursday to Adrian Noe Torres, a 7-pound boy. The infant was born at Tri-City Medical Center in Oceanside.

Teran went into labor Wednesday evening after several false alarms this week. She had been to the hospital one time last Saturday and three separate times on Monday, but was sent home each time.

Her final trip to Tri-City took place Wednesday at 8:30 p.m., and four hours later she was officially a mother ---- and her son was officially the first baby born in North County this year.

Teran recounted her experience during a Thursday afternoon interview from her hospital bed, as Adrian rested on her arm.