BONGINO: MY ONE BIG REGRET FROM MY TIME IN THE SECRET SERVICE

By: Dan Bongino | February 08, 2016

BEHAR ANTHONY/SIPA | AP Photo
Hillary Clinton is a reprehensible human being. There, I said it. And for the sake of our wonderful country, so should you. After watching, and re-watching, the footage of her disgraceful and incredibly dishonest debate performance wherein, when questioned about classified information on her private email server, she replied, “We’ve got this absurd situation of retroactive classification,” I thought, “Is this a sick joke?” But tragically this joke isn’t funny; it has the very real potential to get someone killed and to put us all in danger.

I rarely say this publicly but it’s time: I’m embarrassed to have supported her protective detail as a young Secret Service agent during her New York Senate run. The fact that I contributed, even in the smallest of ways, to assist her Senate campaign, weighs heavily on me as I grow older. I was a young agent at the time and I wasn’t as informed about the existential dangers dishonest and character-starved politicians present to our country.

I had only been hired a year earlier. Being new and relatively politically-naïve at the time I did my job as I’d sworn to do. But as time passes, and Hillary Clinton’s true colors show, I realize that I should have walked away sooner. Our country was founded by patriots with a bold streak of valor and courage used only to identify humanity’s greatest heroes in history books. These patriots took incredible risks to break free from tyranny and give us all a future of freedom. The penalty for failure in this endeavor—because there was no guarantee that the experiment known as the United States was going to work—was execution. Unlike our brave founders, me walking away from the Secret Service earlier rather than working with Hillary Clinton, involved no such Sword of Damocles hanging over my head. I would have found a new line of work and life would have moved on.