Jan Ting on Immigration Policy: 'The Issue Is: How Many?'

By Jan Ting, August 21, 2014

This morning, before hosting an address by Texas Gov. Rick Perry, the Heritage Foundation and National Review co-sponsored a panel discussion about immigration. (Watch it here.) One of the participants was Jan Ting, a law professor at Temple University and a member of the Center for Immigration Studies board of directors. Here are extensive excerpts from his introductory remarks.

View the Heritage Foundation Panel
Both my parents were immigrants. And of course, all Americans should admire and respect immigrants. We're not nativists, right? But that's not the issue. The issue is: how many? Given the fact that we admire and respect immigrants, given our immigrant tradition, how many? And specifically, the issue is: do we let everyone in the world who wants to come here come here? Or, alternatively, are we going to enforce some kind of limit?

Now, I'm a lawyer. Lawyers like to think that they can argue both sides of every question. Me too, If we had all the time in the world, I could argue both sides of those questions. But that's a choice we have to make. Are we going to let every single person in the world who wants to come here to take their shot at the American dream come here? Or are we going to enforce some kind of numerical limit?

That's a choice. It's a hard choice, especially a hard choice for elected officials because neither of those choices is really appealing. Open borders, let everyone in, that's not going to sell. Everyone knows that. You can't take that position. But enforcing a limitation means you have to turn around people who look a lot like our ancestors, who just want to work hard, take their shot. They're not criminals, they're not national security threats; we have to say no to them.