Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Re: Leaving California

Quote Originally Posted by DJ
    The sad part is, is that this entire takeover by the illegals has a domino effect. Because people are being driven out of California, they are moving north. All of sudden Washington, Oregon and Idaho are experiencing an unexpected growth and it's starting to crowd people out in those states.
    I am a Californian who is feeling the same anger, and I think I may represent a lot of other Californians who have not left YET. I happen to have a job that I love, but the day I am tired of it--I'm gone. And when I go, I will take my tax base, my money, and my educational contribution (I am a university professor). Imagine what California will be like when people like me leave in the next couple of years. Who will pay for the increasing costs of subsidizing all the illegal services--let alone the regular costs of the state? But we have politicians in the state who are not listening. I think other states that don't want an invasion of former Californians had better pay attention. This really will be a domino effect.

I had a talk with my son (age 27) about the fact that the twenty something generation are not interested in politics. They don't vote. They are generally not aware of anything except their new cell phones. He is all about writing his dissertation--and looked at me like I'm a little crazy. I am not an alarmist type personality and added that it is HIS generation that will pay the price.
    There's a lot of truth to this. I have a 25-year-old nephew who has no conception of real life. His life is all about his MP3 player, his cell phone, the latest Harry Potter movie, etc. It sometimes frustrates me to no end. This is THEIR future we're trying to protect, and all they can think about is who to check out on MySpace.