Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Unbelievable what is happening . . .

Ok, I am an Allied Healthcare student finishing up my clinics in a middle Tennessee location. Sorry, don't want to go into too much detail about what program, etc.

Anyway, I am in a hospital clinic in the middle of downtown. Remember, I am a student trying to learn a trade. In the department I am in, there are three hispanics that work in the department. Even as a student, they do not speak English in front of me when they discuss cases or for our next patient information. Alot of times I don't know what case I am about to do with my next patient b/c they are discussing everything and then I hear my name and 'you can take the next patient.' So I go in blind not knowing what case I am working on or what to expect. After my cases, THEY discuss it in spanish so I have no clue as to what I did right or wrong.

These are really nice people and based on what I can tell they are legal but nice or not . . . hispanics have NNOOO respect for America and it's English language. Even though they all speak English, they chose not to. And they will not change for anything even when I politely ask 'can you speak English so I can understand better??

Even when they are working with patients, they continue to speak spanish and show no concern that the patient speaks English. The main reason they get away with this is b/c this is low income, medicaid type patients living off the system and the majority are illegal hispanics that WE have to pay for. I would say 70% of our cases are non-English speaking hispanics.