Look At The New Members Of The UN Human Rights Council. What A Joke.

Fabrice Coffrini/AFP/Getty Images
By:Hank Berrien January 2, 2017

Would Congress and president Trump have the stomach to finally leave the United Nations? Here's just one more reason to leave that cesspool: as Hillel Neuer of UN Watch noted bitterly, look at the list of the some of the new members of the UN Human Rights Council:

Yup. Bangladesh, Burundi, China, Cuba, Iraq, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and Venezuela now sit on the council that is supposed to be “an inter-governmental body within the United Nations system responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe and for addressing situations of human rights violations and make recommendations on them.”

As the UN states of the UNHRC, “The membership shall be based on equitable geographical distribution, and seats shall be distributed as follows among regional groups: Group of African States (13), Group of Asia-Pacific States (13), Group of Eastern European States (6), Group of Latin American and Caribbean States (, Group of Western European and other States (7).

Founded in 2006, by 2015, Israel had been condemned in 62 resolutions by the UNHRC, more than the rest of the world combined. That shouldn’t have been surprising, since the council voted on June 30, 2006 to make a review of alleged human rights abuses by Israel a permanent feature of every council session. Israel has never been a member of the UNHRC.

Yet some of the most repressive countries on the face of the earth sit on the council. Here is a complete list of the current members and the year their terms will expire:
The current members of the UN Human Rights Council are listed below: try and count the countries that truly believe in human rights:
Albania 2017
Bangladesh 2017
Belgium 2018
Bolivia (Plurinational State of) 2017
Botswana 2017
Brazil 2019
Burundi 2018
China 2019
Congo 2017
Côte d’Ivoire 2018
Croatia 2019
Cuba 2019
Ecuador 2018
El Salvador 2017
Ethiopia 2018
Georgia 2018
Germany 2018
Ghana 2017
Hungary 2019
India 2017
Indonesia 2017
Iraq 2019
Japan 2019
Kenya 2018
Kyrgyzstan 2018
Latvia 2017
Mongolia 2018
Netherlands 2017
Nigeria 2017
Panama 2018
Paraguay 2017
Philippines 2018
Portugal 2017
Qatar 2017
Republic of Korea 2018
Rwanda 2019
Saudi Arabia 2019
Slovenia 2018
South Africa 2019
Switzerland 2018
Togo 2018
Tunisia 2019
United Arab Emirates 2018
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 2019
United States of America 2019
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)