Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 65
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Need your immediate opinions on the Melamine in US Halloween

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

  1. #1
    Administrator ALIPAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gheen, Minnesota, United States
    Posts
    63,740

    Need your immediate opinions on the Melamine in US Halloween

    Need your immediate opinions on this.



    Melamine in US Halloween candy? Tell me, yes or no. Unknown but a risk? Is this something that should be forwarded?

    VIDEO
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nUB79WJ9ktQ

    W
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    11,242
    Of course, there is probably melamine in candies. And inaction, IMO, by the FDA is not necessarily due only to the elections. It probably also has to do with the fact that China owns over 40% of our nation's debt obligations. China has us over a barrel, so we better not tick them off.
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    684
    I really don't know what to tell you. If US manufacturers were importing milk products from China then it could well be in our food supply, even if the packaging says "made in USA".

    Can we find anything out about this guy before we forward the information? Does he have any sort of reputation?

    If what he says is true, this could potentially be very bad. Not just because of the candy, but because it could be in any product that imported the ingredients from China. God this makes me sooooo angry.
    "Calling an illegal alien an undocumented immigrant is like calling a burglar an uninvited house guest."

  4. #4
    Senior Member Rebelrouser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    704
    The fact that millions of americans buy their candy at wallmart and dollar stores is a sign.Most of these stores products are totally or partially from china and asia. I quit giving out candy several years ago since I dont have small children and my neiborhood has gone 90% immigrants in the last couple of years.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Paige's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City Utah
    Posts
    2,847
    They are saying that this candy was sent to Canada only. I don't believe that and I have sent e-mails of the warnings. Here is another one that you will all enjoy. There is nothing made here anymore is there?


    www.aol.in
    <div>''Life's tough......it's even tougher if you're stupid.''
    -- John Wayne</div>

  6. #6
    Senior Member CCUSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    7,675
    This is horrible to think they would allow, but it does not shock me after all the scandals that are going on in our government.

    Check labels of everything in the food store. I will not buy anything from China for my family to eat.

    I'm forwarding this everyone I know.
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

  7. #7
    Senior Member crazybird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Joliet, Il
    Posts
    10,175

    FDA expands checks for Chinese milk products

    FDA expands checks for Chinese milk products

    Tue Sep 23, 2008 1:22pm EDT
    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The Food and Drug Administration has expanded its checks for possible melamine-contaminated food products from China to include candy and other items, a spokeswoman said on Tuesday.

    Chinese authorities are trying to roll back exports of milk products contaminated with the industrial chemical melamine.

    Infant formula tainted with the chemical has put nearly 13,000 Chinese babies into the hospital with painful kidney stones. Four have died.

    "The FDA has expanded its Asian market sampling and import surveillance assignments to include additional products such as dairy-based candies, dairy-based desserts and other such products reported to the agency as having been tested in other countries and found positive for melamine or its analogs," FDA spokeswoman Stephanie Kwisnek said by e-mail.

    "We are testing and we continue to test the products. So far, the FDA has not found any positive samples in the products it has tested."

    Melamine, which can be used to cheat quality checks by mimicking food protein, has been found in candy, buns and carton milk sold to other countries and regions, unleashing fear in markets already shaken by a string of "made-in-China" scandals last year.

    China has the world's third-biggest dairy sector by volume, after India and the United States, the Chinese dairy products industry association recently estimated.

    Japan, Brunei, Singapore, Malaysia, Hong Kong and Taiwan have already banned Chinese milk products.

    The FDA says is has contacted the companies that make infant formula for distribution in the United States and been assured that none import formula or source materials from China.

    Inspectors have also visited Chinese markets and stores to look for imported Chinese infant formula.

    "Additionally, FDA is sampling and testing milk and milk-derived ingredients and finished food products that could contain these ingredients from Chinese sources. Milk-derived ingredients include whole milk powder, nonfat milk powder, whey powder, lactose powder and casein," the agency said in a statement last week. (Reporting by Lisa Richwine; Writing by Maggie Fox, Editing by Will Dunham)


    http://www.reuters.com/articlePrint?art ... 8220080923
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

  8. #8
    Senior Member crazybird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Joliet, Il
    Posts
    10,175

    Instant Coffee, Tea From China Recalled for Melamine (Update

    Instant Coffee, Tea From China Recalled for Melamine (Update

    By David Olmos

    Sept. 26 (Bloomberg) -- Seven instant coffee and milk tea products made in China are being recalled in the U.S. because of possible contamination with melamine, as health fears increased worldwide over the safety of Chinese dairy exports.

    The Mr. Brown brand mixes are being recalled by King Car Food Industrial Co., based in Taiwan, and were made by China's Shandong Duqing Inc., the U.S. Food and Drug Administration said today in a statement. The agency said consumers shouldn't use the products.

    The recall is the first announced by the FDA since milk tainted with melamine, an industrial chemical, was tied in China to the deaths of at least four babies and the illnesses of an estimated 53,000 children. The 27-nation European Union yesterday banned all imports of dairy-based Chinese food products for children and infants. India also has placed a three-month ban on diary products from China.

    ``The FDA is still in the process of determining how widespread the distribution is of Mr. Brown products in the United States,'' said Stephanie Kwisnek, an FDA spokeswoman, in an e-mail.

    The FDA also warned consumers today not to eat White Rabbit Creamy Candy after New Zealand's food safety authority found the product had high levels of melamine. The agency said it was unaware of any illnesses in the U.S. connected to the candy or to Mr. Brown products.

    Asian Store Inspections

    U.S. regulators continue working with local and state health agencies to check for Chinese-made infant formula in food markets in communities with large Asian populations, according to the FDA. Inspectors have visited more than 1,400 groceries in Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco, Seattle and other cities without finding any Chinese infant formula.

    People who shop in Asian stores should check products for dairy ingredients from China, said Caroline Smith DeWaal, food and safety director at the Center for Science in the Public Interest, a Washington-based consumer group. An investigator from her group found milk from China as an ingredient in yogurt drinks, biscuits, buns and pastries in Asian markets in Arlington, Virginia, she said in a telephone interview.

    The FDA ``is starting to catch up with the rest of the world,'' said Tony Corbo, a legislative representative with Food and Water Watch, a Washington-based nonprofit consumer organization. ``The Mr. Brown coffee and tea products were under suspicion in Canada last week.''

    Food and Water Watch called on the FDA yesterday to ban imports of all Chinese dairy products and urged foodmakers to test any goods they have already purchased for milk-derived ingredients.

    Call for Reform

    ``The recent scandal involving contaminated milk products from China clearly demonstrates that significant work remains for China to reform its food safety system,'' said Representative Rosa DeLauro, a Democrat from Connecticut, who is chairwoman of the House Appropriations subcommittee that oversees the FDA.

    Melamine, used to produce plastic and tan leather, was added by some suppliers to make the protein content in diluted milk appear higher than it was, the Chinese government has said. Melamine traced to Chinese suppliers was also found in pet food that sickened dogs and cats in the U.S. last year.

    To contact the reporter on this story: David Olmos in San Francisco at dolmos@bloomberg.net.

    www.bloomberg.com/
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

  9. #9
    Senior Member crazybird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Joliet, Il
    Posts
    10,175

    Wal-Mart pulls eggs from China stores amid chemical scare

    Wal-Mart pulls eggs from China stores amid chemical scare

    BEIJING (AFP) — Wal-Mart said Tuesday it had pulled a major brand of eggs from its stores in China, as concerns rose that an industrial chemical found in Chinese dairy products was in the nation's wider food chain.

    The announcement by the US retail giant came after authorities in Hong Kong said eggs from the same Chinese producer had been found to contain melamine, the chemical at the heart of a scandal in China over contaminated milk.

    "Over the past few days, we pulled this brand of eggs off shelves in all our outlets in China," Wal-Mart spokeswoman Mu Mingming told AFP.

    Wal-Mart's move was the first major recall of eggs in mainland China over melamine fears, but Mu emphasised this was a precautionary measure and that the products from the Hanwei group had not yet been found to be contaminated.

    Most other major supermarket chains in China, including France's Carrefour, said they had issued no such recall.

    Four babies died of kidney failure and 53,000 fell ill in China this year after drinking milk or consuming dairy products laced with melamine.

    The chemical was apparently mixed into watered-down milk to give it the appearance of having higher protein levels.

    The scandal, which erupted last month, has led to a spate of recalls and bans on import of Chinese dairy products around the world.

    The revelation in Hong Kong that melamine was also in eggs has led to questions over whether the chemical, which is normally used to make plastics, had been mixed into livestock feed and contaminated China's wider food chain.

    Zhang Zhongjun, programme officer with the UN Food and Agricultural Organisation in China, said the discovery of melamine in eggs could mean the chemical was present in a wide range of foods such as farm-raised meats and fish.

    Zhang told AFP China's agriculture ministry was investigating the possibility that melamine had been mixed into farming feed.

    "But we do not know the details of the investigation... we want them to immediately report to us the results of their findings," Zhang said.

    "If the feed is found to be contaminated, then there is the possibility (that pork, chicken, fish and beef could also be contaminated)."

    Zhang said that feed producers could have laced their products with melamine to falsely boost protein content, similar to the methods of the milk producers. However melamine can also be used as a fertiliser.

    In Hong Kong, authorities had already announced they would expand their melamine testing of food imported from China to pork, farmed fish and offal products.

    The World Health Organisation said the amount of melamine detected in the Hong Kong eggs did not pose a health threat , but it had also asked the government for an explanation as to why the chemical was there.

    "There is no immediate public health risk, unless the individual consumes an extraordinary amount of fresh eggs," Tony Hazzard, the WHO's regional food safety advisor, told AFP by phone.

    Nevertheless, there was no indication of whether eggs or any other food products in China may have much higher levels of melamine that could pose health risks, with the government remaining silent on the issue on Tuesday.

    China's health ministry said the issue was not under its jurisdiction, while the agricultural ministry and the body in charge of food quality refused to comment.

    China's foreign ministry declined to comment on the specific issue but said the government "attaches great importance to food safety."

    "If anyone finds any problems, they can contact competent authorities so that we can conduct an investigation," ministry spokeswoman Jiang Yu told reporters.

    Click Here
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

  10. #10
    Senior Member crazybird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Joliet, Il
    Posts
    10,175

    More Chinese Milk Products Banned in Burma

    More Chinese Milk Products Banned in Burma

    By KYI WAI Tuesday, October 14, 2008

    RANGOON — Burma’s military regime issued an order yesterday banning more Chinese dairy products found to be contaminated with the toxic industrial chemical melamine.

    Under order 42/2008, issued on October 13, the following products have been banned: Golden River Full Cream Milk Powder, Butterfly Calcium Milk Powder, Yu Li Full Cream Milk Powder, Sweet Whey Powder, Non-Dairy Cream (Korea), Non-Dairy Cream (China) and Elfalac A+.

    The Ministry of Health and Ministry of Industry 1 announced that they would continue to inspect dairy products for melamine contamination and release their findings when they become available.

    It was unclear, however, whether the regime’s announcement would do much to protect consumers who use repackaged milk powder sold in small plastic bags for around 100 kyat (US$ 0.0.

    A source at the Nyaungbinlay wholesale market in Rangoon said that milk powder from China is often repackaged in this way to make it more affordable—and to make it easier to sell milk powder that has already passed its expiry date.

    “I can’t afford to buy branded milk powder, and the (repackaged) milk powder costs just 100 kyat,
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •