Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

I think William's streamlined approach looks pretty good. I would like to add one thing, and that is to come up with a way to harass the news media (TV News, Radio, Newspapers, News Magazines) to publish more illegal immigration and SPP related stories. The IRAQ war is on the front page every day, but I could count on one hand the number of news stories on illegal immigration or SPP that I have come across in the past year. I think a lot of this has to do with inherent bias at the main sources for national and international news feeds, which are Reuters and the Associated Press (AP). I have news headlines on my web home page, which come from AP, and I have not seen more than two stories in the past 15 months. If Reuters and AP don't feed it to the major media, the major media is not going looking for it.

I have no experience in this area, but perhaps some other ALIPAC members do. How can we force, coerce, or at least fool the media into putting the issues on the table? Even if their reports were biased, we could at least start the debate. Right now, as far as the news is concerned, illegal immigration and the SPP are non-issues. If the American People saw illegal immigration, trade agreement issues, and the SPP reported anywhere near as much as the IRAQ war (I'd settle for as often as I have to hear about Paris Hilton and Lindsy Lohan), I believe we would have the massive support needed to either get our Legislators' attention or get rid of them.
    "We have met the enemy, and they is us." - POGO