Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

H.R. 4321: The Amnesty Mob's 'Greatest Hits'

H.R. 4321: The Amnesty Mob's 'Greatest Hits'

By Joe Jenkins, Wednesday, December 16, 2009, 3:00 PM EST - posted on NumbersUSA

Whether you intend on celebrating Christmas or Kwanzaa, are celebrating Chanukah, or have celebrated Eid this holiday season, Rep. Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.) has given us all a gift that needs to be flung from the highest mountain top into the deepest of crevices: H.R. 4321, the Comprehensive Immigration Reform for America's Security and Prosperity Act of 2009.

The bill's name is tame enough. Americans like to be secure and would like to be prosperous. Unfortunately, the bill is far from tame; it's downright dangerous. It's provisions would be comical if the stakes weren't so high.

Before I talk about this bill let me begin with a little bit about myself. I graduated from the College of William & Mary in May, 2007 and came to work at NumbersUSA a couple weeks later on June 6th. I expected (and truth be told, hoped for) a quiet first few weeks so I could learn the ropes. As you might recall, the summer of 2007 was the Summer of Amnesty. President Bush, Sen. Kennedy, and Sen. McCain were trying their hardest to force through comprehensive amnesty. Needless to say, my honeymoon lasted all of 10 seconds and I was thrown straight into the heat of the battle. It was "sink or swim" and I managed to doggy paddle my way to safety.

As you know, NumbersUSA and its activist members fought the Bush-Kennedy-McCain amnesty every step of the way and eventually defeated it. Twice.