Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Lawyers Can’t Save America From Trump

Lawyers Can’t Save America From Trump

By PAUL BUTLER
    JUNE 20, 2017

Lawyers, rather than elected leaders or activists, are playing the most visible role in responding to emergencies created by the Trump administration. I have a great deal of respect for attorneys — as a law professor, I make my living by training them — but they are not the best first responders to the Trump presidency.

In a time when Donald Trump’s platform — building the wall, banning the Muslims, making America great “again” — poses central questions about our national identity, everybody has an opinion about rules. Even ordinary citizens are using legal discourse, rather than discussions of values or policy, to assess the dire state of affairs. Americans are asking questions like, is collusion a crime? Can a sitting president be criminally indicted or would he have to be impeached first?

One poll reports that 49 percent of voters think the president is guilty of obstruction of justice. Cable television features debates about whether President Trump’s tweets should be admitted as evidence in federal court. Senate committees convene to consider whether Mr. Trump’s presidential campaign conspired with Russians to subvert United States democracy but the senators’ questions focus on whether any of the president’s men attempted to impede the investigation (at this point no women have emerged as subjects of the investigation).

The resort to law in a time of crisis is not new. Alexis de Tocqueville, writing in 1835, observed “there is hardly any political question in the United States that sooner or later does not turn into a judicial question.” But the prominence of legal discourse waxes and wanes depending on whether we trust the political process, and our elected officials.