Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bigotry and southern racial prejudice

I am a descendent of William Brewster of Plymouth. Most here have ancestors that my family would welcome as immigrants.

Second, my wife is a Latin American that was BORN in The US. Her father worked for the CIA. I was a Navy Officer. All of our children serve in the militray. My son is an Army Lieutenant in Infantry in Afganistan. One daughter is a Seargent in the Florida Army National Guard and has delpoyed to Iraq. My last daughter is a USAF officer JAG.

My wife looks Latin. She works in Alamance County North Carolina. Twice she has been detained by police in North Carolina only to have her NC diriver's license checked for validity.

Do not support the Sherriff bigot of Alamance County. Doing so, you tarnish your image. His kind belongs in a totatitarian state somewhere, not here.

Police detain Latin LEGAL immigrants and even those that were born here.

AE

I have read a little about this county, but I live on the far west coast, where I am somewhat removed from this.

I would have to say that if there is an issue with their office detaining people, and it seems unlawful, then you should have some recourse to take, so that they better their own training to handle themselves in a more appropriate and decent manner if they are not at this time.

I would have to say that if your wife was stopped for some reason (brake light out..etc..) but no red flags go up in their system when her license was checked as usual then they have no reason to detain her further, I would talk to someone with legal knowledge about it, and see what needs to be done, you might just have one rogue officer working with his/her own mindset about the situation and needs to be handled.

Good luck on this, I hope you can find the means to resolve it.