Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

  1. #1
    Discouraged's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 1970

    House Appropriations Committee Rejects Border Security, E-Ve

    During a markup of the Fiscal Year (FY) 2009 supplemental spending bill, the House Appropriations Committee last Thursday rejected two amendments that sought to enhance border security and protect American jobs. The first amendment, offered by Homeland Security Subcommittee Ranking Member Hal Rogers (R-KY), contained several provisions aimed at strengthening the integrity of the U.S.-Mexico border. Additionally, Rep. Jack Kingston (R-GA) offered an amendment that would prevent jobs created by the supplemental from being taken by illegal aliens. (Congressional Quarterly Committee Coverage, May 7, 2009).

    Rogers' amendment sought to redirect $200 million of the bill's spending to fund Department of Justice (DOJ) and Department of Homeland Security (DHS) programs aimed at securing the U.S.-Mexico border. The amendment included $15 million for detention efforts; $5 million for the U.S. Marshals Service; $75 million for interagency crime and drug enforcement; $5 million for courts and judicial services; $27.2 million for Customs and Border Protection; $52.8 million for Immigration and Customs Enforcement; $10 million for the Coast Guard; and $10 million for Federal Emergency Management Agency state and local programs.

    The amendment would have shifted funding from certain international programs for which the Obama Administration did not request funding, and some of which the Committee's ranking member Rep. Jerry Lewis (R-CA) criticized as "excessive and poorly justified" to domestic law enforcement. (Government Executive, May 8, 2009). Following the vote on the amendment, which was supported by 22 Republicans but opposed by 35 Democrats, Rep. Rogers said: "How, in all good conscience, can we provide increases in foreign assistance — increases that were not requested by the White House — by some $3 billion and, yet, neglect the needs of the domestic law enforcement and border security agencies that are confronting the treacherous drug war on our doorstep? This amendment would have shifted resources from foreign countries and invested in our own security and rule of law right here at home at a time when communities from Atlanta to San Diego are dealing with the spillover affects [sic] of this violent drug trade." (Rogers Press Release, May 7, 2009 and CQ).

    Kingston's amendment sought to require entities who receive contracts under the supplemental to enroll in E-Verify. The amendment was rejected by a voice vote (Id.) in spite of the fact that, earlier this year, this same committee approved — by a voice vote — a similar amendment that required any federal contractor that received federal funding from the stimulus bill to verify the employment eligibility of their workers through E-Verify. (FAIR's Legislative Update, January 26, 2009). This amendment was ultimately stripped from the bill. (FAIR's Legislative Update, February 17, 2009).

    The Appropriations Committee's rejection of these amendments suggests that Congressional leaders are poised to cater to amnesty advocates behind the scenes, giving President Obama room to cater to enforcement supporters in public. For example, at a recent press conference, the President observed, "If the American people don't feel like you can secure the borders then it's hard to strike a deal that would get people out of the shadows and on a pathway to citizenship who are already here, because the attitude of the average American is going to be, 'Well, you're just going to have hundreds of thousands of more coming in each year.'" (The Washington Times, May 8, 2009).

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    United States House of Representatives
    Committee on Appropriations

    Committee Members

    David R. Obey, Wisconsin, Chairman
    John P. Murtha, Pennsylvania
    Norman D. Dicks, Washington
    Alan B. Mollohan, West Virginia
    Marcy Kaptur, Ohio
    Peter J. Visclosky, Indiana
    Nita M. Lowey, New York
    José E. Serrano, New York
    Rosa L. DeLauro, Connecticut
    James P. Moran, Virginia
    John W. Olver, Massachusetts
    Ed Pastor, Arizona
    David E. Price, North Carolina
    Chet Edwards, Texas
    Patrick J. Kennedy, Rhode Island
    Maurice D. Hinchey, New York
    Lucille Roybal-Allard, California
    Sam Farr, California
    Jesse L. Jackson, Jr., Illinois
    Carolyn C. Kilpatrick, Michigan
    Allen Boyd, Florida
    Chaka Fattah, Pennsylvania
    Steven R. Rothman, New Jersey
    Sanford D. Bishop Jr., Georgia
    Marion Berry, Arkansas
    Barbara Lee, California
    Adam Schiff, California
    Michael Honda, California
    Betty McCollum, Minnesota
    Steve Israel, New York
    Tim Ryan, Ohio
    C.A "Dutch" Ruppersberger, Maryland
    Ben Chandler, Kentucky
    Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Florida
    Ciro Rodriguez, Texas
    Lincoln Davis, Tennessee
    John T. Salazar, Colorado

    Jerry Lewis, California, Ranking Member
    C.W. Bill Young, Florida
    Harold Rogers, Kentucky
    Frank R. Wolf, Virginia
    Jack Kingston, Georgia
    Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, New Jersey
    Todd Tiahrt, Kansas
    Zach Wamp, Tennessee
    Tom Latham, Iowa
    Robert B.Aderholt, Alabama
    Jo Ann Emerson, Missouri
    Kay Granger, Texas
    Michael K. Simpson, Idaho
    John Abney Culberson, Texas
    Mark Steven Kirk, Illinois
    Ander Crenshaw, Florida
    Dennis R. Rehberg, Montana
    John R. Carter, Texas
    Rodney Alexander, Louisiana
    Ken Calvert, California
    Jo Bonner, Alabama
    Steven C. LaTourette, Ohio
    Tom Cole, Oklahoma

    House Appropriations Committee | H-218 U.S. Capitol, Washington, D.C. 20515 | (202) 225-2771

    Subcommittee on Homeland Security


    Chair: David E. Price (NC)
    José E. Serrano (NY)
    Ciro Rodriguez (TX)
    C.A. "Dutch" Ruppersberger (MD)
    Alan B. Mollohan (WV)
    Nita M. Lowey (NY)
    Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA)
    Sam Farr (CA)
    Steven R. Rothman (NJ)
    David R. Obey (WI), Ex Officio


    Ranking Member:
    Harold Rogers (KY)
    John R. Carter (TX)
    John Abney Culberson (TX)
    Mark Steven Kirk (IL)
    Ken Calvert (CA)
    Jerry Lewis (CA), Ex Officio ... _dhs.shtml

    Unfortunately, the Chairman of this subcommittee, Rep. David E. Price (D-NC) is credited with implementation the Democratic strategy which changed the government's focus on local enforcement and ICE raids of employers to rounding up and deporting dangerous criminal aliens by simply transferring funding from the successful local 287 (g) program and ICE to the latter. Rep. Price is a former academic from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where former Congressman Tom Tancredo recently was attacked when he attempted to speak.

    Individual contact information for each member of the House of Representatives available on the Homepage:
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

  3. #3
    Senior Member Dixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Texas - Occupied State - The Front Line
    Another Democrat law in the making.

    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

  4. #4
    Senior Member Rockfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    From FLA to GA as of 04/01/07
    Another bunch of traitors, they all make me sick. Vote them out.
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts