Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

'I just shot a person'

http://www.jsonline.com/news/metro/may05/328270.asp

'I just shot a person'

At inquest into killing, officer testifies that he feared for his life
    By DERRICK NUNNALLY
    dnunnally@journalsentinel.com
    Posted: May 23, 2005

Milwaukee Police Officer Alfonzo Glover told a jury Monday about the night he killed Wilbert Prado after a slow, strange off-duty car chase in March that almost ended with him being run over.

"I thought, 'If I don't move, I'm going to be completely crushed,' " Glover testified at the inquest into Prado's death just after midnight March 6.

Instead, Glover said, he jumped mostly clear while shouting, "I'm a cop!" then ended up chasing Prado on foot.

"I wanted to safely and effectively take him into custody," Glover testified, but Prado kept reaching into his jacket and pointing his arm at Glover while running away.

Minutes later, Glover was standing over Prado's body and calling 911.

"I just shot a person," Glover told the operator.

Prado, a 25-year-old illegal Mexican immigrant, died in a south side alleyway after being shot eight times from behind. Investigators later found that Prado, who had been drinking, did not have a gun. Glover testified he had no way of knowing that, after narrowly eluding Prado's van only to see an arm extended back toward where he sat on the pavement.

"I felt as though the driver was armed with a dangerous weapon and he was about to shoot me," Glover said during his methodical afternoon testimony.

The inquest, expected to last most of the week, could include testimony from about 30 witnesses, Deputy District Attorney Patrick Kenney said. After hearing Kenney's presentation, the jury, which includes five women and two men (including one alternate), will offer an advisory verdict on whether Glover should be prosecuted for the slaying.