http://www.washtimes.com/metro/20050828 ... -1543r.htm

Montgomery panel seeks answers to gang problems
By Arlo Wagner
THE WASHINGTON TIMES
Published August 29, 2005

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Montgomery County teenagers and young adults told lawmakers, county officials and residents at a Rockville meeting on gangs yesterday that young people need a place to belong -- or they will turn to gangs.

"Give young people alternatives. Think about kids who are not in school," said Juan Patheco, 28, who came to the forum dressed in stereotypical gang clothing.

As he spoke, he removed the red bandana from his shaved head and donned surgical scrubs. "I'm a student now at George Mason University, studying to become a pediatrician," he said.

Almost everyone in the crowd of about 200 in the Montgomery County Council auditorium broke into applause.

The forum was organized by Montgomery Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez and praised by County Executive Douglas Duncan as the beginning of a regional and statewide effort to solve the burgeoning problem of violent gangs.

On Thursday, federal and Montgomery police arrested nine of 19 MS-13 gang members indicted on federal racketeering charges of murder, attempted murder and other acts of criminal conspiracy.

"We know we got a gang issue here, in Maryland, Virginia and the District," Mr. Duncan said. "As bad as it might seem now, if we don't do something now, it's going to get much worse."

The two dozen officials on hand, including police Chief Tom Manger, schools Superintendent Jerry Weast, and U.S. Reps. Chris Van Hollen and Benjamin L. Cardin, both Democrats, nodded in agreement.

Stefanny Aramayo, 16, was one of 11 young people to speak.

"When people join a gang, they think they may have the attention and love they didn't get as they were growing up," said Stefanny, speaking in Spanish, which was translated into English over loudspeakers.