Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

California or ground zero of the invasion

Mr. Santorum, don't build this wall

http://www.philly.com/mld/dailynews/new ... 903122.htm

Posted on Mon, Jun. 26, 2006

Mr. Santorum, don't build this wall

By JERRY BOWYER

I'VE BEEN interviewing Rick Santorum for almost two decades now. One thing that always struck me about Rick was his willingness to speak openly about his belief in Christianity.

That's why I was surprised when the senator recently sent an e-mail to me in which he bragged about his tough position on immigration and slammed Bob Casey for his soft one.

As I read the e-mail, I thought, "Has Rick ever read what the Bible actually says about immigrants?"

The biblical case against abortion is inferential. The Bible doesn't speak directly to the topic. It lays out some principles - sacredness of life, humanity of the unborn - that lead to the conclusion that abortion is not permitted. It's the same with stem cells, child tax credits, faith-based social services, etc.

Immigration is different. The Bible is explicit. In the Torah, Moses commanded, "Do not mistreat an alien or oppress him, for you were aliens in Egypt."

The Bible is unabashedly pro-immigrant. The argument is simple: You were immigrants in Egypt, and you didn't like being mistreated, so now that you have your own country, you should treat immigrants compassionately. It's basically the Golden Rule: Treat people the way you used to want to be treated when you were in Egypt.