Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

South West Florida (Behind friendly lines but still in Occupied Territory)

A rational approach to profiling

May 02, 2010

A rational approach to profiling

Joseph Rosenberger

The outrage some have expressed over Arizona's government (supported by over 70% of her citizens) to enforce federal foreign citizen trespasser laws by claiming to do so requires unconscionable racial profiling to enforce, is both confounding and irrational. In fact, racial profiling is the fastest and most humane way to solve the problem and the most fact based method to enable our State Department to justify punitive diplomacy against the most egregious nations from which these trespassers come.

I am, by profession, a business process problem solver. A common cause for problems is more work demanded than the enterprise's infrastructure can handle. One useful method to identify a problem's root cause is known as Pareto Analysis. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pareto_analysis Most know it as the "80-20" rule - that 20% of a total quantity of something is responsible for 80% of an effect. It's an approximation; in real life the ratio depends on the specific cause and the specific effect.

The Pareto effect teaches us that once one identifies the most common identifying attribute or characteristic of a cause, one should inventory and sort the affected population by the most common problem. This is the most economical and fastest way to address the root cause.

In Arizona, the most identifiable attribute of foreign citizen trespassers is ethnicity. They are from Central America, primarily Mexico. Focus on that population first, then work down the Pareto list until the volume of foreign citizen trespassers is acceptable, as perfection is a waste of time.