Brazil's economic freedom fighters are an example for Americans

By JASON RUSSELL
8/8/15 12:01 AM

Kim Kataguiri is a 19-year-old college dropout from a working-class family in Santo Andre, Brazil. How then, did he become the face of a movement, millions of people strong, to impeach Brazil's president and bring free markets to Brazil?

In high school, Kataguiri was told by a teacher that Brazil's then-economic boom had been fueled by welfare. He wanted to learn more about how welfare works, so Kataguiri searched the Internet and eventually came across free market literature by Ludwig von Mises.

Using what he learned from Mises, Kataguiri made a YouTube video about welfare in Brazil. "It was only for my colleagues and teacher, but it ended up spreading throughout the Internet, and that's when I started studying about libertarianism and I continued to make my videos," Kataguiri told the Washington Examiner.

There aren't many economies around the world that libertarians would consider free, but Brazil's is particularly restrictive. The country ranks 103rd out of the 152 countries in the Fraser Institute's annual rankings of economic freedom, below Greece, Russia and Thailand.

Economic freedom aside, the Petrobas Scandal has become extra motivation for those seeking to oust Brazil's president, Dilma Rousseff. Petrobras is Brazil's state-owned oil company, and members of Rousseff's Workers' Party allegedly accepted bribes from Petrobras while Rousseff was on the company's board of directors.

Rousseff denies wrongdoing, but many Brazilians aren't convinced, and her approval rating is about 8 percent.

In response to the scandal, Kataguiri and Fabio Ostermann, a political science professor in Brazil, founded the Free Brazil Movement in November 2014. "We stand for free markets, we stand for individual freedom, we stand for limited government," Ostermann told theExaminer. The scandal wasn't their only motivation to found the libertarian group, but it was a major factor.