Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

South West Florida (Behind friendly lines but still in Occupied Territory)

The day the Holocaust began “Gun Control in the Third Reich: Disarming the Jews and

The day the Holocaust began

MCT
    By Eric Heyl
    Published: Saturday, Dec. 7, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

Stephen Halbrook is a research fellow with the Independent Institute, an Oakland, Calif., think tank. Halbrook spoke to the Trib regarding his new book, “Gun Control in the Third Reich: Disarming the Jews and ‘Enemies of the State.'”
    Q: What compelled you to craft a book on Nazi Germany gun control measures?
    A: Nobody has ever researched it. I first heard about it when I was an undergraduate in college in 1968, and there were these gun registration bills proposed in Congress.
    Rep. John Dingell (D-Mich.), who is still there, of course, argued that (World War II) had just ended 23 years ago and that this sounds like some of the same kind of stuff that existed in Nazi Germany.
    The proponents of the bill challenged that and said they actually had commissioned a Library of Congress study saying there was no use of gun registration lists by the Nazis, either in Germany or in occupied countries, which was blatantly stupid.
    When (the Nazis) took power in 1933, they immediately used the (gun registration) records to disarm political enemies.
    Q: When did the effort to disarm Jewish people begin?
    A: In October 1938, police agencies in Germany announced that all Jews had to turn in their guns (and) the authorities knew which Jews had guns because they were registered. Having disarmed the Jews, they were able to attack them.