Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Preparedness Advice Needed

Can anyone recommend a reliable, reasonably priced Organic Heirloom Seed Company?

I know the topic of vegetable gardening has come up in the past, and there seems to be a lot of people on this forum with experience in this area.
    I'm a beginner and a little nervous about starting my first organic vegetable garden. Let's just say I'm agriculturally challenged! But with things the way they are, I'm very motivated to get something going.

I've been doing a lot of research and was somewhat relieved to read that the success of a good garden takes brown knees and not necessarily a green thumb! So with that in mind, and being it's January, I am ready to start shopping for seeds. I want to start them indoors and transfer them later.

I've read that it's best to grow things that are native to one's given area. This may be a silly question but if this is the case, do I have to purchase seeds locally?? I live on Long Island, in NY and I'm along a bay. From what I understand, we've got 2 different zones out here. 6A and 7 I think.. Anyway, would appreciate the advice. Thanks!

I was inspired by this family in CA. Amazing what they did with such little property:

http://www.pathtofreedom.com/

I would buy certified organic seeds either locally or packaged by a company anywhere in this country, as long as they are certified organic. Through the Internet you can also find a lot of heirloom seeds, meaning they have not been genetically modified.