Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Probably wrong forum - pls move this Testimonial

I graduated in 1981 from UCLA - upon graduating I got "appointed" to a position with CA Secretary of State - my appointment was the result of teaching a CEO of a bank how to swim while I lifeguarded at a elite executive club. No joke.

I immediately took advantage of the position writing position papers on environmental issues important to me as a surfer. Short part again, my positions became front page news and my boss looked like a genius.

Because I was halfway literate and presentable (to blind people) - I was put into front line semi-official/campaign soliciting role - wow - how naive can I be.

Cut to quick again - my last assignment was to clandestinely return cash and jewels given as "baksheesh"to high visibility staff of a gubantorial candidate - reeceived from the then Godfather of the Japanese mafia (Yakuza). The LA Times had gotten wind of the gifts and major conflict of interest, so I was sent to return the stuff because I was "clean".

Upon that meeting, I was taken into protective custody by National Police and sent home asap. As a 22 year old then, it was all very James Bond and cool, but the inside view of corruption was discouraging and I swore off any further politics.

Fast forward to the 90's when I bought my first home. Corny as it sounds, I felt a sense of civil obligation, wound up being appointed to a major beach municipality as a Commissioner for Capital Projects (funding new fire stations, libraries, sewers). I had my first kid and moved to a higher end zip code - again got appointed to non-paid Commission - I swear I teared up getting sworn into office, hand over heart - this kid from the barrio was making a difference.