Guest Post: What To Do When You've Hit Your Breaking Point

Submitted by Tyler Durden on 11/08/2012 17:49 -0500

At some point or another, anyone who is even remotely paying attention to reality will likely reach two critical moments of awakening in their lives.
The first is what I call the “Aha! moment”. This is the point at which people realize that there is something terribly, terribly wrong with the system… and that almost everything they’ve been brought up to believe about their government and society is total BS.

The ‘Aha! moment’ is usually brought about by something you learn or read… for example, finding out that your national government is deeply, hopelessly in debt. Or that it is mathematically impossible for you to receive the pension benefits you’ve been promised. Or that your currency is being printed into degeneracy by a single individual.
My own ‘Aha! moment’ came in early 2003. I was an intelligence officer sitting on the Iraqi border waiting for George W. Bush to order coalition forces north. But first he had to convince the rest of the world of his righteousness.

At the time, officials from the Bush administration were pushing hard to make their case for war. But the information they were presenting just didn’t add up. My colleagues and I used to look at each other and ask, “seriously, what WMDs are these people talking about?”

We already knew about chemical munitions. Duh. It was the Americans that had equipped Saddam with those to begin with. But nukes? Total pipe dream. I knew it was BS. And watching the President go on television saying, ‘we know he has nukes’ destroyed everything I had ever believed about government. That was my ‘Aha! moment’.

Typically when people hit their Aha! moments, the next days and weeks are filled with more learning, more reading. Like tugging at a string on a tattered garment, it just keeps unraveling.