Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

FACING THE SHARKS

This thread is about what's it like for an American to lose their work to a foreigner, and the contractors who team with them, and having to go before the Court of Federal Claims. I chose the title "Facing the Sharks" because that's what it feels like to me.

I'm a pro se litigant who is filing a complaint in the COFC soon, and I was not able to find a law firm to take my case for 2 reasons. 1. No money to pay them 2. They won't go up against the defendants

This case started in the US District Court and for less than a year, I had an attorney, but he bailed out on me. He had a meeting with the defendants where I was asked to leave. Shortly after, he told me one of the witnesses was going to deny information, and I wouldn't have a case. He told me to drop it, and I said if he wanted to quit he could, but I wouldn't quit. The defendants got the judge to sign a court order to force my attorney to stay on the case. My attorney called me to tell me to pick up all my case files, because I was on my own, and he was only going to show up to the deposition of the witness because he was ordered to.

I called the court clerk to tell him what had happened, and he said my attorney can't do that. I told him I had all the documents and didn't know what to do with them. He said the only way to get my attorney off the case was to fire him. I did that, but the defendant's attorney would not allow the deposition to be rescheduled to when I found a replacement attorney. I had to depose the witness myself, or drop the case.

After deposing the witness, I learned more information about my case. My former attorney said I will probably win my case and he could kick himself.