Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Banned

A Legal Immigrant's Take on Illegal Immigration

Posted: 05/10/11 06:19 PM ET Our president today makes his way to the southern border. Over the past few months, various states have followed, to a greater or less extent, the path blazed last year by Arizona, when it took legislative steps to deal with a problem of illegal immigration that the federal government has consistently failed to solve.

The law in question in Arizona was SB 1070. When it passed, I was an immigrant resident of that state.

When I received my greencard two years ago, I was sent a letter from the Department of Homeland Security -- the same letter that is sent to thousands of new immigrants every week -- from which I quote: We will soon mail you a new Permanent Resident Card... When you receive your card, you must carry it with you at all times if you are 18 older. It is the law.
    Pretty clear.

While a permanent resident, I am here as a guest, and my carrying my "greencard" is a reasonable step on the path to becoming a proud American -- "reasonable" because any nation needs to know whom it lets in, as part of its responsibility to the security of its citizens.

My rights here depend on the rule and enforcement of law, applied equally to all, regardless of background or color. For that reason, the backlash against new state immigration laws is not in any true sense "liberal" or "progressive". A liberal should support the rule of law that protects the security and the rights of its individual citizens.

Not only is SB 1070 blind to color and ethnicity: it protects immigrants from being asked for documents without reasonable suspicion of a violation of the law of which I was notified when I became an immigrant. Therefore, Arizona's law offered immigrants a protection that is not offered them in the "Welcome to America" letter I quoted at the top of this article.