Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Letter I wrote to my state's Federal Attorny

May 12, 2006

United States Attorney, Paul Charlton

Two Renaissance Square

40 N. Central Ave., Suite 1200

Phoenix, AZ 85004-4408

Dear Attorney Charlton:

As an Arizona resident, I want to express my extreme disappointment for the choice your office made to not prosecute the Mexican illegal aliens you had in custody that admitted they set the recent destructive fire on National Forest land in the vicinity of Arivaca, Arizona.

I vividly recall at the time of the Mount Lemmon fire, all the publicity that was generated when searching for a suspect to charge for starting that fire, that this person would be facing prison time and huge fines. Typically, law enforcement publicizes threats of a large penalty as a deterrent to committing a crime as your office has done numerous times before. This time, you had your suspects in custody and despite their admittance of starting the two fires, you allowed them to be immediately deported to Mexico and you chose not to prosecute. They should have served time before being deported. Were they not prosecuted because they are Mexican citizens?