Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Banned

Op-ED from the president of the Arizona Chamber of Commerce

The bottom line: An immigration car wreck
    A weekly column from inside the business community

When I was a sophomore in high school, my driver's education teacher was a big believer in the "scared straight" method of preparing teenagers to get behind the wheel. He made it a point to show his classes accident scene photos to drill into our young brains the gravity of the responsibility of operating a motor vehicle.

My teacher would show us a photo full of mangled metal and broken glass and say, referring to the victims, "This accident wasn't their fault." And then after a dramatic pause he'd say, "And guess what: They're still dead."

When I think about the immigration debate in Arizona, I can't help but think back to that high school classroom and driver's ed. Boycotts carried out against Arizona businesses in protest of our state's policies on illegal immigration are wrong and they are not the fault of Arizona businesses. Yet Arizona businesses and workers are the ones that get hurt.

The state Senate right now is considering a host of immigration bills. One bill attempts to re-interpret the 14th Amendment of the United States Constitution, which grants birthright citizenship. Another would require hospitals to determine patients' citizenship status during the admission process. And yet another contains a number of new immigration-related measures, affecting everything from vehicle registration to public housing to employee verification to schools.

to schools.

All of these measures rest on very shaky legal ground and would surely invite lawsuits.

The Arizona Chamber of Commerce and Industry opposes all of these measures. But the Chamber and the business community at large is not predisposed to opposing all immigration-related legislation.