Results 1 to 4 of 4
Like Tree6Likes
  • 2 Post By Beezer
  • 1 Post By Beezer
  • 1 Post By Judy
  • 2 Post By Beezer

Thread: Senator Grassley Asks DHS to Review Current TPS Designations

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

  1. #1
    Senior Member Beezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    20,046

    Senator Grassley Asks DHS to Review Current TPS Designations

    Sen. Grassley Asks DHS to Review Current TPS Designations

    Published: Tue, Oct 31st 2017 @ 2:40 pm EDT

    Today Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Chuck Grassley sent a letter to acting DHS Secretary Elaine Duke asking her to review current TPS designated countries to ensure they meet the requirements.

    Several countries currently in the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) program will be up for review in the next several months.


    The TPS program is supposed to grant temporary relief to foreign visitors whose home country faced an unexpected event -- armed conflict, environmental disaster, or other extraordinary and temporary conditions -- that would make it difficult for them to safely return home when their visa expired.

    However, some countries’ TPS status has been renewed from 18 months to 7 years or more. Under the TPS program the foreign visitor can work and live in the U.S. until the TPS status expires.

    In his letter Sen. Grassley raises concerns about the program saying, “Although I support TPS under the right circumstances, I am very concerned with the way the program has evolved over the last three decades.

    We now have a program that permits several hundred thousand otherwise removable aliens to remain in the United States, where they are eligible to receive public benefits and are authorized for employment, permitting them to take jobs that might otherwise be filled by one of the 7.1 million unemployed Americans.”


    He also points out that some nationals of TPS designated countries travel unhindered between their home country and the U.S. yet the country still remains on the TPS list.

    “State Department statistics suggest that several other countries may also be enjoying unnecessarily extended TPS. Nationals of several TPS countries travel freely to and from the United States, indicating that country conditions are not so dire as to prevent a return to the TPS country,” he wrote.


    Sen. Grassley concludes by asking the acting DHS Secretary three questions about the TPS review process.


    https://www.numbersusa.com/news/sen-grassley-ask-dhs-review-current-tps-designations
    Last edited by Beezer; 11-01-2017 at 09:50 AM.
    Judy and MW like this.
    TO BECOME AN AMERICAN YOU MUST CHANGE YOUR VALUES ...NOT YOUR LOCATION

    STAY HOME AND BUILD AMERICA ON YOUR SOIL

  2. #2
    Senior Member Beezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    20,046
    Several Hundred Thousand!!!

    That need to be deported!

    Stop bringing people here...start deporting and END these failed programs now.

    We are NOT the ATM machine or dumping ground for the World.
    Judy likes this.
    TO BECOME AN AMERICAN YOU MUST CHANGE YOUR VALUES ...NOT YOUR LOCATION

    STAY HOME AND BUILD AMERICA ON YOUR SOIL

  3. #3
    Senior Member Judy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    55,715
    I bet there's really millions of them.
    Beezer likes this.
    A Nation Without Borders Is Not A Nation - Ronald Reagan
    Save America, Deport Congress! - Judy

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts at https://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  4. #4
    Senior Member Beezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    20,046
    We are 20 TRILLION in debt! Shut these programs down.

    Our money and resources should be spent on upgrading our computer systems...updating tracking systems.

    Our money and resources should be spent on DEPORTING illegal aliens, Visa overstays, TPS, refugees and asylum liars.


    Our money should NOT be spent on importing MORE people into this Country taking our jobs, overwhelming our schools, healthcare, welfare and food stamps bringing their diseases and violent culture here and their overbreeding!


    How can we AFFORD to import and deport!

    We are broke...damn you people in D.C. ramp up deportations and end these failed policies!
    artist and Judy like this.
    TO BECOME AN AMERICAN YOU MUST CHANGE YOUR VALUES ...NOT YOUR LOCATION

    STAY HOME AND BUILD AMERICA ON YOUR SOIL

Similar Threads

  1. Trump to order review of national monument designations: Report
    By Newmexican in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-25-2017, 02:18 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-31-2017, 05:14 PM
  3. Senator Grassley asks Microsoft to axe foreign workers first
    By Populist in forum illegal immigration News Stories & Reports
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 01-26-2009, 02:03 PM
  4. Senator Grassley On MSNBC
    By tinybobidaho in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-18-2007, 09:33 PM
  5. Senator Grassley Statement On Immigration Reform
    By butterbean in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-06-2006, 04:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •