Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

South West Florida (Behind friendly lines but still in Occupied Territory)

Tax returns for illegal aliens (really)

Tax returns for illegal aliens (really)

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

These days things happen so fast that if you blink you stand a good chance of missing something important. Such was the case with this tidbit. The headline read "Republicans are looking to deny child tax credits to illegal immigrants." Read that closely again: child tax credits for illegal immigrants.

These refund checks average about $1,800.

I am no lawyer and certainly no tax expert but it seems to me that this should not be possible. First, how do illegal aliens pay taxes? Doesn't that mean that these illegal aliens are employed and are having income taxes withdrawn from their paycheck? I mean how else do you get a refund?

In typical federal fashion, it would seem you do not need a Social Security number to get a paycheck at the present time. So a new proposal would require people who claim the federal child credit to have Social Security numbers to prove they're legal workers Common sense right?

Not so fast. Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid of Nevada says the proposal unfairly goes after the children of poor Hispanic workers. Remember many of these illegal families have kids who are often U.S. citizens, even when their parents aren't, because they were born in this country.

Some Republicans and Democrats question why the government is cutting checks to people who have sneaked into the country illegally. So am I.

"We have rules about tax credits and benefits, and it seems to me they need to be applied fairly and across the board," said Democrat Sen. Claire McCaskill, "If there are rules, they need to be enforced. I think it's just that simple. I don't think it's complicated."