http://www.heralddemocrat.com/articles/ ... 891357.txt

Coming to America
Immigrant family follow their faith and are realizing their dreams

By Edward Southerland
Herald Democrat

The story that Franklin D. Roosevelt once opened a speech to the Daughters of the American Revolution with the greeting, "fellow immigrants" is fanciful fiction rather than fact, but the sentiment is true all the same.

As far as anthropologists can determine there are no such people as true native Americans. There are only immigrants who crossed the Asian land bridge to the western hemisphere a little ahead of the rest of the crowd who came by boat from the other direction. But for all these immigrants the idea, whether rationally thought out or not, was the same, coming to a new world for a better life.

So it is with Kashmir Singh a native of northern India. "I grew up in the state of Punjab, where I graduated from high school," he said. "I came here for the opportunities." Here was Texas, Dallas, where Singh had relatives, and the time was 1985. He got a job driving a taxicab and cruised the streets of his adopted town for 14 years.

In 1991, he returned to India and married. "It was an arranged marriage (common practice in India), and her father and my father were good friends," he said. The Singhs have three children, a boy and a girl currently in school in India and a younger son who goes to elementary school in McKinney.

Singh came to Sherman in June 2000, and bought a convenience store at the corner of King and Walnut from a friend who was operating it. "Actually," Singh said, "I bought the business; my friend still owns the building." Later, Singh bought the E-Z Mart on Lamar Street and now, with his family, runs both operations.