ILLEGAL ALIEN DRUG SMUGGLERS HIDING IN PLAIN SIGHT

By Michael Cutler
June 8, 2009
NewsWithViews.com

The news report that appeared in the Sunday edition of the Washington Times "Mexican drug cartels 'hide in plain sight' in U.S." http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/200 ... ght-in-us/ should be of great concern to all Americans, including our nation's "leaders."

This news report about the drug crisis confronting our nation makes it clear that this is not a border crisis but a crisis for our entire nation.

Although I was an INS officer for 30 years, I devoted roughly one half of my career or about 15 years, working in conjunction with the FBI, DEA, ATF and other law enforcement agencies on the federal, state and local level and even in conjunction with law enforcement agencies of foreign governments to identify, investigate and then dismantle drug trafficking organizations.

In the late 1980's when I was assigned to the DEA's Unified Intelligence Division in New York, I conducted an analysis of arrest reports and found that in New York City, some 60% of the individuals arrested by the DEA and the DEA Task Force for drug trafficking and related crimes were identified as being "foreign born," while nationally, the statistic ran to about 30% of all defendants arrested by the DEA.

It was clear that the drug traffickers were embedding themselves in communities in which the general population looked much the same as the traffickers looked because they moved into neighborhoods in which a significant segment of the population came from the same countries that they did.

This was done, I believe, for 3 reasons. First of all, they wanted to live in a community in which they would be comfortable. They wanted to have the same sort of food, music and other cultural resources that they were accustomed to. They also wanted to find women that they could relate to.

Additionally, by moving in to such neighborhoods, it was far easier for them to blend in and "hide in plain sight."