Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Senior Member FedUpinFarmersBranch's Avatar

MD-College Park rape survivor speaks of ordeal, recovery

College Park rape survivor speaks of ordeal, recovery

A young woman who was raped and beaten after she went out with friends in College Park said that the experience will not define her life or stop her from succeeding.

After the attack, "I proved to myself I can succeed. I graduated with a great GPA and got a job," said the woman, 22 now, who spoke to a group of TV, radio, and print reporters on the condition that she not be identified by name and that her face not be photographed. The woman now works for a public relations firm.

The woman was a 21-year-old student at the University of Maryland when she was attacked.

She had been out drinking with friends at Cornerstone, a College Park bar on Route 1, and left about 2:30 a.m. on Feb. 21, 2009.

The woman accepted a ride from a man, later identified as Derik E. Villeda-Morales, 24, of Laurel.

The woman told reporters she thought Villeda-Morales was a taxi driver, even though his vehicle did not have taxi markings. "He said 'Yes, I'm a cab driver,' " she said.

The woman settled into the front passenger seat and gave Villeda-Morales the address of the home she shared with other students. But he drove by it.

She said she called friends and police, but Villeda-Morales began hitting her with his closed fist.
    "I felt like he had complete and utter control over me," the woman said. As Villeda-Morales hit her, she lapsed in and out of consciousness.