Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

KATE

Kate you are so right. I do video games for a living and managed to survive the outsourcing craze of 2001-2003, although I had to go through my 401K and savings account to do so. The game industry licked their collective chops over cheap labor from overseas and tried to farm out as much as they could. I personally know of over a dozen instances of this practice going on--and every single time we dumb, lazy Americans had to completely re-do the work done overseas. In 2004-2005 there was another craze of having Americans flown to nations like China and the former Soviet Union to train these superior overseas workers. That didn't work either.

Today, in nearly-2007, the outsourcing craze, from what I can tell, IS OVER. This is great news folks. The truth is, most of these reptilian businessmen who wanted to line their pockets at our expense have been bitten on their fat asses as re-doing game assets put games over-budget and off-schedule. One former supervisor of mine, I'll call him Bart, referred to us game artists as "a dime a dozen" and "toilet paper" and couldn't wait to outsource as much work as possible. All of it had to be redone. Meanwhile, we lazy Americans had to work 60-70 hour weeks (of course no overtime pay) to finish the game but we did it.