Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
Like Tree24Likes

Thread: Trump Asked Top Aides to Review Whether to Rejoin TPP, Senator Says

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

  1. #1
    Super Moderator GeorgiaPeach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    19,319

    Trump Asked Top Aides to Review Whether to Rejoin TPP, Senator Says

    Trump Asked Top Aides to Review Whether to Rejoin TPP, Senator Says




    April 12, 2018

    Justin Sink and Margaret Talev



    President Donald Trump has deputized two top economic advisers to review re-entering the Trans-Pacific Partnership trade accord he withdrew from after taking office, Senator Ben Sasse told reporters.



    “He multiple times reaffirmed the point that TPP might be easier to join now,” Sasse said Thursday.



    White House spokesmen didn’t immediately respond to requests to confirm Sasse’s statement.



    Trump has designated economic adviser Larry Kudlow and U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer to lead the review, said Sasse, a Nebraska Republican.



    “He said that he was going to deputize, again, Larry Kudlow and Ambassador Lighthizer with reentering the TPP negotiations, and that’s really good news for America and frankly it’s really good news for the rule of law and economic security in the Pacific,” Sasse said.



    Sasse spoke to reporters at the White House on Thursday after leaving a meeting on trade Trump held with governors and lawmakers from farm states.



    https://www.bloomberg.com/news/artic...ine&yptr=yahoo

    Last edited by GeorgiaPeach; 04-12-2018 at 01:11 PM.
    Matthew 19:26
    But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible.
    ____________________

    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)


  2. #2
    Senior Member Beezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    18,970
    NO!!!!

    AND NO BACK DOOR TO BRING IN MORE FOREIGN WORKERS LIKE OBAMA AND RYAN PUT IN THIS TPP PLAN!

    ONE-ON-ONE TRADE!

    TRUMP IS FLIP FLOPPING ON ALL HIS POLICIES

    YOU PROMISED!!!

    WHAT NEXT? GIVE "PARIS CLIMATE ACCORD AGREEMENT" BILLIONS OF OUR MONEY!!!
    GeorgiaPeach likes this.
    TO BECOME AN AMERICAN YOU MUST CHANGE YOUR VALUES ...NOT YOUR LOCATION

    STAY HOME AND BUILD AMERICA ON YOUR SOIL

  3. #3
    Senior Member Judy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    55,668
    Just do bilateral agreements for now. We don't need them right now. We don't need to get embroiled in another complex trade agreement. Just wait, no rush on those countries. Plow forward to reduce the trade deficit. Dow up today over 300 points so far today. Trump's approval hit 50% again today on Rasmussen, despite Mueller and Rosenstein's raid on Cohen. Just stay the course for now. If there's no big money and jobs for the US with a TPP agreement, just stay away from it. They'll come crying to US to join on much better terms the longer we wait them out, i my opinion.
    A Nation Without Borders Is Not A Nation - Ronald Reagan
    Save America, Deport Congress! - Judy

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts at https://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  4. #4
    MW
    MW is offline
    Senior Member MW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    25,682
    Geez, is he trying to make his whole presidential campaign a lie?
    Beezer, artist and JohnDoe2 like this.

    "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" ** Edmund Burke**

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts athttps://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  5. #5
    MW
    MW is offline
    Senior Member MW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    25,682
    Quote Originally Posted by Judy View Post
    Just do bilateral agreements for now. We don't need them right now. We don't need to get embroiled in another complex trade agreement. Just wait, no rush on those countries. Plow forward to reduce the trade deficit. Dow up today over 300 points so far today. Trump's approval hit 50% again today on Rasmussen, despite Mueller and Rosenstein's raid on Cohen. Just stay the course for now. If there's no big money and jobs for the US with a TPP agreement, just stay away from it. They'll come crying to US to join on much better terms the longer we wait them out, i my opinion.
    Considering all the caterwauling you did against the TPP during the campaign, that's a fairly muted response if you ask me. Honestly, I expected you to call for an immediate exorcism.


    "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" ** Edmund Burke**

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts athttps://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  6. #6
    Senior Member Judy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    55,668
    You know, the Russians made an interesting statement about our country a few weeks ago when the 13 Russians were indicted.

    "If Americans want to see a devil, they will see one."

    Some do, and MW, you are one of them.

    A Nation Without Borders Is Not A Nation - Ronald Reagan
    Save America, Deport Congress! - Judy

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts at https://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4,815
    TPP has written in foreign workers can be imported at their rates and foreign countries do not have to abide by our environmental laws (if we have any left). Getting real tired of trumphead. King of Swamp! No problems abandoning any promises and the list is long.
    Last edited by artist; 04-12-2018 at 03:19 PM.
    MW and Beezer like this.

  8. #8
    Senior Member dman1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,631
    Geez this just gets better and better and this a--hat claimed we would get tired of all the winning. I'm sure the swamp is getting tired of beating us like a redheaded step child. I'm tired of Don the Con, he's just ensuring we'll end up with Hillary or Joe Biden as president in 2020, lying rat POS.
    artist and MW like this.

  9. #9
    MW
    MW is offline
    Senior Member MW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    25,682
    Top Republican senator: Trump wants to jump back in the massive trade deal he once called 'a rape of our country'

    BOB BRYAN
    Apr 12th 2018 3:03PM



    • Sen. Ben Sasse told reporters that President Donald Trump told two of his advisers to look into getting the US back into the Trans-Pacific Partnership.

    • Trump pulled the US out of the TPP just two days after taking office.

    • The move would be a reversal of Trump's recent protectionist trade rhetoric.



    President Donald Trump appears to be reversing course on a major multilateral trade deal.
    GOP Sen. Ben Sasse, a staunch free-trade advocate, told reporters Thursday that during a White House meeting on Thursday, Trump directed two top economic advisers to reenter negotiations to get the US into the Trans-Pacific Partnership.

    The TPP was crafted most extensively by President Barack Obama's administration. The agreement spans 11 countries around the Pacific Rim, including Japan, Australia, Mexico, and Canada. Despite Obama signing the deal in February 2016, Trump yanked the US out of the agreement just two days after his inauguration.

    Sasse told reporters that Trump directed National Economic Council Director Larry Kudlow and US Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer to look into getting the US back into the TPP.

    14 PHOTOS

    "The best thing the United States can do to push back against Chinese cheating now is to lead the other eleven Pacific nations that believe in free trade and the rule of law," Sasse said in a statement after the meeting. "It is good news that today the president directed Larry Kudlow and Ambassador Lighthizer to negotiate US entry into TPP."

    The other 11 countries signed a new agreement, called the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership, in March.


    Trump originally trashed the TPP during the 2016 campaign, calling it "a rape of our country." But in January, the president suggested that the US could get back into the deal if terms were improved. But many TPP nations said the White House never engaged in serious talks regarding the deal.

    14 PHOTOS
    A history of the Trans-Pacific Partnership

    The free trade move comes in contrast to a rash of recent protectionist measures Trump has imposed, including tariffs on imports of steel, aluminum, and $50 billion worth of Chinese goods.

    Despite Trump's fiery rhetoric and crackdowns, Kudlow also suggested late last week that the president was attempting to find a "coalition of the willing" to take China on over trade. Some lawmakers and experts speculated that the "coalition" could be the TPP nations.

    https://www.aol.com/article/news/201...ntry/23409892/
    artist likes this.

    "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" ** Edmund Burke**

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts athttps://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  10. #10
    MW
    MW is offline
    Senior Member MW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    25,682
    Trump is probably taking bad advice again. Either that or he has lost all confidence in his abilities to deal with China on trade and would rather go with Obama's ideas. I say that because:

    Despite Trump's fiery rhetoric and crackdowns, Kudlow also suggested late last week that the president was attempting to find a "coalition of the willing" to take China on over trade. Some lawmakers and experts speculated that the "coalition" could be the TPP nations.
    Just like everyone else here, I'm guessing. However, whatever the case, this would be another lie to add to his campaign promises!
    Beezer likes this.

    "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" ** Edmund Burke**

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts athttps://eepurl.com/cktGTn

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Ex-Trump aide Gorka in talks to rejoin Breitbart
    By European Knight in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-28-2017, 01:19 AM
  2. Supreme Court asked to review Ariz. employer sanctions law
    By Arizonaman2008 in forum illegal immigration News Stories & Reports
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-29-2010, 12:13 PM
  3. IRS asked to review Americans United for liberal agenda
    By AirborneSapper7 in forum Other Topics News and Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 05:40 AM
  4. Senator Mitch Mc Connell asked for feedback....and money
    By Cliffdid in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2008, 06:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •