Updated: March 8, 2007

Page Under Construction

Synopsis:

The city of Knoxville is considering a move to make English the city's official language. Also, County Commissioners, like Ivan Harmon, would have to vote on the proposal if it made its way to Knoxville.


Activist Instructions:

We need ALIPAC Activists to make calls, send letters, faxes, and e-mails to all members of the Knoxville Council asking them to please support the ordinance being discussed.


Examples:




Contact Information:

Knoxville, TN

http://www.ci.knoxville.tn.us/

City County Building
400 Main St
Knoxville, TN 37902
Mailing address City of Knoxville, P.O. Box 1631, Knoxville, TN 37901

Council members can be reached through the City Recorder's Office
865-215-2075
Fax at 865-215-4269

City Council Meeting Schedule
http://www.cityofknoxville.org/calendar/default.asp
City Council meets every other Tuesday at 7 p.m. in the Main Assembly Room

Mayor Bill Haslam
Phone: 865-215-2040
Fax: 865-215-2085
mayor@cityofknoxville.org

Joe Bailey - at large
424 Hillvale Turn, West
Knoxville, TN 37919
865-637-4477
jdbailey@cityofknoxville.org

Chris Woodhull - at large
223 Deadrick Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37921
865-661-4131
chriswoodhull@bellsouth.net

Marilyn Roddy - at large
920 Iskagna Drive
Knoxville, TN 37919
865-637-0333
mroddy@cityofknoxville.org

Joseph Hultquist- First District
2240 Fisher Place
Knoxville, TN 37920
865-579-1250
joseph49@bellsouth.net

Barbara Pelot - Second District
8437 Corteland Drive
Knoxville, TN 37909
Home: 865-693-0454
Work: 865-671-1544
Fax: 865-693-0525
rpelot3@aol.com

Steve Hall - Third District
5748 Acapulco Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37921
Home: 865-584-9567
Work: 865-522-1195 or
865-522-1414
InteriorFinishes@MSN.com

Rob Frost - Fourth District
P.O. Box 300
Knoxville, TN 37901-0300
Home: 865-525-1303
Work: 865-546-7000
Fax: 865-546-0423
rfrost@adhknox.com

Bob Becker - Fifth District
125 E. Columbia Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37917
Home: 865-524-1524
bob@bobbecker.org

Mark Brown - Sixth District
305 Bona Road
Knoxville, TN 37914
865-637-7733
browncity6thdist@aol.com

Cindy Mitchell and the staff of the City Recorder's Office supply assistance to City Council. Council members can be reached by phone through the City Recorder's Office at 865-215-2075 or fax at 865-215-4269 or by mail at City of Knoxville, P.O. Box 1631, Knoxville, TN 37901.

Knoxville, gets my vote for the most informative and website. Every possible bit of contact information is online.

NEED A LIST OF KNOXVILLE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS TOO.


News Articles:

English-Only in Knoxville?

State Republicans propose solutions on immigration

Focus Campaigns Status:

Sept. 12, 2006 Considering English Official Language Ordinance.