Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: DACA still ‘under review,’ Trump administration says

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

  1. #1
    Senior Member Judy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    55,660

    DACA still ‘under review,’ Trump administration says

    DACA still ‘under review,’ Trump administration says

    By Ted Hesson
    06/16/2017 07:04 PM EDT

    The future of an Obama-era deportation relief program remains undecided, the Department of Homeland Security said Friday.

    The announcement was meant to clarify the department’s position on the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program, which allows nearly 788,000 undocumented immigrants to apply for work permits and live in the U.S. without fear of deportation.

    “The future of the DACA program continues to be under review with the administration,” a DHS spokesperson said in a written statement. “The president has remarked on the need to handle the issue with compassion and with heart."

    DHS felt compelled to issue a statement on the program’s fate after POLITICO and other outlets reported Thursday on guidance posted to the DHS website that suggested DACA would remain on firm footing under the Trump administration.

    The guidance came as the administration terminated a separate deportation relief program for parents of U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents that had been blocked by federal courts since early 2015.

    On its website, DHS assured that DACA would not be affected by the move. “No work permits will be terminated prior to their current expiration dates,” the guidance read.

    The department said today that it only intended to clarify that DACA would not be immediately canceled. The guidance, DHS said, “should not be interpreted as bearing any relevance on the long-term future of that program.”

    http://www.politico.com/story/2017/0...program-239654
    A Nation Without Borders Is Not A Nation - Ronald Reagan
    Save America, Deport Congress! - Judy

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts at https://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  2. #2
    Senior Member Judy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    55,660
    GeorgiaPeach likes this.
    A Nation Without Borders Is Not A Nation - Ronald Reagan
    Save America, Deport Congress! - Judy

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts at https://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  3. #3
    Administrator Jean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    64,819
    The department said today that it only intended to clarify that DACA would not be immediately canceled. The guidance, DHS said, “should not be interpreted as bearing any relevance on the long-term future of that program.”
    Very carefully worded there isn't it? Apparently there is a chance DACA will be eliminated in the future. We shall see.
    Judy, nomas and imblest like this.
    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts at https://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  4. #4
    MW
    MW is offline
    Senior Member MW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    25,576
    Quote Originally Posted by Jean View Post
    Very carefully worded there isn't it? Apparently there is a chance DACA will be eliminated in the future. We shall see.
    I don't believe the Trump administration has any desire to end the program. It is my strong belief that President Trump is waiting for the U.S. Congress to debate the issue in an attempt at passing a DREAMER amnesty.

    "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" ** Edmund Burke**

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts athttps://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  5. #5
    Super Moderator GeorgiaPeach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18,635
    The number being used for DACA illegal aliens is usually @750, 000 but it is now closer to 887,000. We know there is strength in numbers. It must be ended.

    https://www.uscis.gov/sites/default/...y2017_qtr2.pdf
    MW, Judy, nomas and 3 others like this.
    Matthew 19:26
    But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible.
    ____________________

    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)


  6. #6
    Senior Member Judy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    55,660
    Quote Originally Posted by Jean View Post
    Very carefully worded there isn't it? Apparently there is a chance DACA will be eliminated in the future. We shall see.
    YES! Most people didn't seem to know that in Judge Hanen's ruling on the injunction to stop 2014 DAPA and DACA Expansion, the separate issue of DACA 2012 was raised by the states after the fact to be included in the lawsuit. The Judge ruled it could not be part of the lawsuit and ordered it to remain in full force and effect as part of his injunction to stop the 2014 DAPA and DACA. He stopped 2014 DAPA and DACA not on constitutional grounds, this was just an injunction order, not a ruling on the merits or legality of the actions. In his review of the case he discovered that in the 2014 DAPA and DACA Expansion, the Obama Administration had failed to abide the proper administrative rules procedures for proper notice to the public in the Federal Register which did not apply to DACA 2012 which had complied with the proper notice requirements and charged that DACA 2012 would remain in effect during the injunction period in accordance with the "June 15, 2012 Memorandum". They're trying to comply with the court order.

    The injunction period ends upon a verdict in a trial or a dismissal. Because the issues for the states that were the basis for their lawsuit have been revoked, there is no cause for a continuance of the case. As is normal process when the issues have been resolved with an action by the party being sued (feds), then the other party has a period of review to ensure they are satisfied that their issues have been resolved after which they agree to dismiss the lawsuit. The court gave the parties a 2 week extension for this review phase of the case. There are 26 states involved in this lawsuit, and each one is entitled to review the MEMO and respond for a unified decision to dismiss the case assuming they are satisfied with the Kelly action, which they should be.

    So we'll see what happens. It's a big action crucially timed for a reason, hopefully a good reason and one we'll be happy with.

    pkskyali and Beezer like this.
    A Nation Without Borders Is Not A Nation - Ronald Reagan
    Save America, Deport Congress! - Judy

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts at https://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  7. #7
    Super Moderator GeorgiaPeach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18,635
    I will keep hoping for DACA to end, even knowing the "swamp" works vigorously against us and sucks people inside.
    Judy and Beezer like this.
    Matthew 19:26
    But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible.
    ____________________

    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)


  8. #8
    MW
    MW is offline
    Senior Member MW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    25,576
    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgiaPeach View Post
    The number being used for DACA illegal aliens is usually @750, 000 but it is now closer to 887,000. We know there is strength in numbers. It must be ended.

    https://www.uscis.gov/sites/default/...y2017_qtr2.pdf
    You're right, the program continues. And this is a program that Trump has called unconstitutional and illegal. Why would our President continue a program he thinks is unconstitutional and illegal?

    President Trump or Secretary Kelly can end DACA on a minutes notice. The program was instituted by the Obama administration, not the U.S. Congress.
    Last edited by MW; 06-17-2017 at 09:29 PM.
    artist and GeorgiaPeach like this.

    "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing" ** Edmund Burke**

    Support our FIGHT AGAINST illegal immigration & Amnesty by joining our E-mail Alerts athttps://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  9. #9
    Senior Member JohnDoe2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    PARADISE (San Diego)
    Posts
    94,947
    NO AMNESTY

    Don't reward the criminal actions of millions of illegal aliens by giving them citizenship.


    Sign in and post comments here.

    Please support our fight against illegal immigration by joining ALIPAC's email alerts here https://eepurl.com/cktGTn

  10. #10
    Super Moderator imblest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    8,239
    Quote Originally Posted by MW View Post
    You're right, the program continues. And this is a program that Trump has called unconstitutional and illegal. Why would our President continue a program he thinks is unconstitutional and illegal?

    President Trump or Secretary Kelly can end DACA on a minutes notice. The program was instituted by the Obama administration, not the U.S. Congress.
    We must keep the pressure on!

    I don't believe he will end DACA unless he feels forced to.
    MW and GeorgiaPeach like this.
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. First deported DACA recipient sues Trump administration
    By JohnDoe2 in forum illegal immigration News Stories & Reports
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-19-2017, 01:45 PM
  2. Why Trump Must End DACA
    By GeorgiaPeach in forum illegal immigration News Stories & Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2017, 09:58 AM
  3. Texas Voter ID Case Delayed for Trump Administration Review
    By Jean in forum illegal immigration News Stories & Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-23-2017, 10:36 AM
  4. Administration asks new immigration review with 9 justices
    By JohnDoe2 in forum illegal immigration News Stories & Reports
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-03-2016, 01:23 PM
  5. Napolitano :Administration Will Review Arizona Immig law
    By FedUpinFarmersBranch in forum illegal immigration News Stories & Reports
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-02-2010, 01:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •