Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

When I lived in Maine, I worked as an RN for 12 years with 7 of those years in the ER so I am keenly aware of the risks involved with exposure to communicable diseases such as hepatitis, AIDS, TB, staph and strep infections etc. At one point I was a strong supporter of the good Samaritan laws, but my perspective has changed not only because of the risk of being sued despite good intentions, but also because I choose not to expose myself to potential disease...911 is the number I would call especially if an illegal alien is involved, then walk away.

Hey now, as a Labor and Delivery nurse I am certainly not "proud" of how many "anchor babies" I have delivered - which let me tell you is a LOT. However we ARE just doing our jobs, making a living, and supporting our families. Those of us in the medical profession have taken oaths and are committed to helping people, and unfortunately, because of our broken system, that includes the hoards of illegal aliens that are using our ERs as free clinics.

As for my County hospital, it's been my understanding that our Maternal/Child units are the ONLY money making units and clinics around. This is because we receive reimbursement from Medi-Cal for our services. Management is constantly after us to make sure we are vigilant about charging our patients for every supply, drug, service, etc. since we can get money back from the State. Otherwise, we'd be closing our doors like so many others are. That's why our hospital makes darn sure that EVERY Maternal/Child patient is signed up for Medi-Cal before they are discharged - it's our only chance for reimbursement.

So, Reciprocity, be nice to us Doctors and Nurses, please - like it or not, we're just doing our jobs!

So Republicans are SUPPORTING SOCIAL WELFARE for ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS! The FEDERAL LAW NEEDS to be changed.