Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Yet another example of those "wonderful family values" we hear so much about from these people.
    Join our efforts to Secure America's Borders and End Illegal Immigration by Joining ALIPAC's E-Mail Alerts network (CLICK HERE)

Banned
    Went to that site, snooping around, and saw this.............

Laid off...subcontractor advice
    View
    Post new reply
    Yesterday, 01:05 PM
    Joined in Mar 2006
    22 posts
    i3ernal
    0 AP

So I was laid off this past February due to status. A little background, I've been working there for almost 6 years, but another company bought this company last August. At the initial management meetings, they assured everything will be the same, (yea, right!)
    I worked at a grocery store that was acquired by "EL SUPER" aka Bodega Latina. They are based in the LA area, but expanded over to the Inland Empire region here in SoCal.

Although I am still ticked about it, I was blessed to have an income for so many years and allowed me to pay for my bachelor's degree. I was reading other threads and came to an idea of becoming a subcontractor, but I have a few questions.

Should you just ask a business to hire you as a subcontractor rather than employee?
    Business name, any recommendations? I was thinking being my name "John Doe Co"

Lastly, just want more feedback or experiences with subcontracting.

Yesterday, 01:22 PM
    Joined in Jul 2010
    216 posts
    Immigrant
    0 AP

I personally know two people who went through this path. One is working for a $100 billion/year multinational corporation as a contractor(But really an employee in practice) making $65K/year.

So while this can be done, the employer must be willing to do this for you, and you have to be compelling enough for the employer to retain you this way. Having connections inside the employer helps a lot.