http://www.dailyherald.com/politics/story.asp?id=242152
Scroll way down for Immigration question

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Q&A: 8th Congressional
Posted Tuesday, October 24, 2006

Democrat Melissa Bean of Barrington is defending her 8th congressional district office; while Republican challenger David McSweeney of Barrington Hills, and independent candidate Bill Scheurer, of Lindenhurst, are trying to unseat her. The candidates responded to 10 questions posed by the Daily Herald.

Q. Why are you running for this office? Is there a particular issue that motivates you and what will be your main priority in office?

Melissa Bean: My top priorities in Congress are to restore fiscal responsibility, protect our families, promote economic growth and stand up for the moderate mainstream values of my constituents. As a fiscal conservative, I've used my 20 years of business experience to bring a greater level of accountability and transparency to government. I have worked to reduce wasteful spending and restore pay-as-you-go rules that demand more responsible budgeting.

I intend to continue leading on legislative and educational initiatives that protect our children from online predators, our seniors from identity theft, our families from environmental dangers and our communities from terrorist threats, while supporting policies that strengthen our economy and create jobs.

As I promised, I will remain accessible and responsive by reaching out to the community through town halls, leadership summits, forums, and other public events to maintain my commonsense and independent approach to the issues facing our nation.

David McSweeney:: I am running for U.S. Congress because I want to use my business experience to fight for the principles of lower taxes, less government spending, and a strong national defense.