Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Taxation without representation

I hope you will all bear with me here...
    I am new at all of this.
    Where is the term Taxation without representation from? Is that in the constitution?
    Isn't this theory or law something that our leadership (those opposed to the SPP) could use to give this fight some teeth?
    As Lou Dobbs and every American with any national pride thinks, we are not being consulted on the SPP. Decisions that affect the very existance of our country are being made daily and no one is asking us or even our lawmakers. So I want to do some research. I am just not sure where to begin.

Remember the Boston Tea Party?
    I am thinking maybe it is time for a little
    Mexican Tortilla Fiesta...

I can hear you now! we need to have another little party don't we?
    Build the dam fence post haste!

The answer I was given when I called my representatives office about this was (believe it or not) you are being represented! because you elect the person that you feel will make decisions as close to the decisions you would make. Even if their position is not the same as yours, you were given the chance to vote and elect the representative or president that you felt would best represent you. They don't want to acknowledge that they are leaving part of the equation out.

I am pretty sure that was more of a slogan than anything. Not to minimize the historical signifigance of one of the calls for action by the Sons of Liberty, but it is about the same as my distant ancestor saying "Give me Liberty or Give me Death"

I am a firm believer in both of those famous cries for Freedom of tyranny.