Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Quote Originally Posted by Chosen
    I wasn't aware of the issues surrounding this man until I read the news headline on Michelle Malkins site.

I have to confess that I have actively stayed away from anti-illgeal immigration forums and discussion sites as of late because, as a veteran, I have a hard time dealing with the sometimes rampant anti-military, conspiracy theorists that seem to spam their way onto net discussion groups. I think they, in a low brow sense, think of those opposed to illegal immigration as broadly anti-government from their perspective (black helicopters, chips in the head, etc) and due to the roused, vocal opposition to government as of late, I think they have become excited and aroused by the opportunity to have a broad audience. There is also the desire to brand those opposed to illegal immigration as the same as the tin foil hat crowd, so some of the spam is intentional... I only bring this up because this same technique of misinformation and general issue clouding, lead me to believe that he was still the leader of the minuteman project. Most sites where I would have found this out, most likely, I stay away from due to some of the collectivist anti-military zealots in their midst (at least in the digital realm).

So I wonder a couple of things...Does the general public view him as the leader and voice of the minutemen? Can it be conveyed that he is not representative of the anti-illgeal immigration movement and has not been for quite some time?

For example, if you read Michelle Malkins title and article as many others state, you get the impression that he is still representative of the movement:
    http://michellemalkin.com/2007/12/11/mi ... -huckabee/