Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

JRB

Re: Hello, I'm New here

Quote Originally Posted by StanleyIpkis1
    Hello everyone,

My name is Stanley and I registered for this site some time ago but haven't been active on the site. I would like to explain my situation.

I am currently living in Australia, trying to immigrate to the United States. I graduated with a degree in biochemical engineering and felt that the United States provided me with very good employment prospects and research opportunities. I applied to several firms in the U.S. and was offered a position with Bristol-Meyers Squibb. They have sponsored me for an employment visa but I am currently involved in the legal process which is taking over four years now. I am not complaining because I feel that this is the correct and necessary sacrifice to work and live in the United States.

Upon watching CNN and other news outlets, I kept hearing of the immigration debate in America. Due to my situation, I decided to investigate further and came upon the so called DREAM Act. After examining it for several days, I felt that it was offering an unfair advantage to unlawful people when many, many people such as myself are trying to pursue the lawful process. I wanted to express my opposition to this issue but being an international person, I didn't have any opportunity to call your elected officials. I came upon this forum while researching the DREAM Act on Google.