Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Jhaerlyn, welcome, new member!

I was a carpenter for 20 years before becoming an IBM programmer and I can tell you that after going through a 4 year apprenticeship for Carpentry, it hasn't payed off. In 1983, union wage in S Fla paid 11.83 / hour. In 1997, right before I made a career change, wages for a carpenter were no better than 13.00 an hour. Some carpenters around the country would laugh about that, sadly enough, I would have to agree. During those years, S Fla had seen alot of immigration from Cuba. But because of our country's on-going policies regarding the Cuban migration, my wages were held down by the Cuban immigrants coming into S Fla and working for less. Our current policy is that if a cuban can 'touch' our soil, then he/she is free to stay.

Well, the Mexican's look at that and say "Why can't I do that?" In fact, anyone coming in here illegally probably takes the same attitude. Since these people are working for peanuts, it puts a strain on the standard of living you and I are used to.

William is absolutely right when he says asks if you think that if the manufacturers of goods and services are going to pass the savings gained from employing illegal immigrants back down to the consumer. Heck no, and they never will.

I have a question for you. Do you think once our refineries and oil rigs in the Gulf are back on line, will the cost of gas come back down? You'd be foolish to think so. The American corporate mindset towards profit is 'do anything you can do to make a buck, even if it means selling out your mother'. If it wasn't just that, then you would see the cost of living less than what it is.